Home > Pitt Basketball > How Far Will Pitt Go?

How Far Will Pitt Go?


As we all know it’s that time of year again Tourney time.  What seems as common as the Tournament is the Pitt Panthers being in it. Then again as common as that they seem to disappoint.  That brings us to the big question how far will they go this year? I think this could be the year they show they are a real deal team and really do something in the tournament. I will use my final Bracket to explain why I believe they make it to the Final Four. First of all I think Pitt may have gotten the easiest region to succeed in and that helps them a lot. I think the southeast is just full of upset potential, and that gives Pitt an even easier road.

Ashton Gibbs

I usually don’t like saying something is a sure thing but if you pick Pitt to lose in the first round then you’re wrong its plain and simple it has never happened won’t happen this year, and may never happen.  Out of the two possible teams they’ll play in the second round I see it being Old Dominion. Don’t ask why I did my research, and Pitt’s second opponent will be Old Dominion. However after pulling the tiny upset of a 9 over an 8 they most certainly won’t pull out the big upset by beating number 1 Pitt. Either way though if I end up being wrong, and there is a chance, They will beat Butler too they will make it to the Sweet 16.  Now let me explain why in the Sweet 16 they will play 13 Belmont. In the first round I’m calling two big upsets in the southeast region 13 Belmont over 4 Wisconsin and 12 Utah State over 5 Kansas State. Those are Pretty bold predictions, but like I said before I’ve done some homework and I really feel like these can and will happen. If I’m right here this makes the road for Pitt a lot easier, I mean would you rather play the winner of a 12 & 13 match up or a 4 & 5 game. However if I am wrong the only team out of these four that I don’t want to see Pitt play is Kansas State, because even though I think they are overrated and will lose in the first round I think they play a type of basketball that can beat Pitt. The other game I see happening in the southeast Sweet 16 is a 6 St. Johns Vs. 2 Florida, and out of that number 2 Florida wins it.

In the Elite 8 of the southeast region Pitt will Play number 2 Florida. This will be the toughest game so far and this could be were their journey, or should I say tourney, ends. Being a Pitt fan though comes into effect here and I pick them to win it, however you can question this decision no evidence just guesses/hope/gut feeling. What a magical idea Pitt in the Final Four, well if you are as crazy as me you can see it happening. Who do I have coming out of the southwest region to play Pitt you ask, I have 1 Kansas. I just don’t see another team out of that region being able to oust Kansas. This However I believe will be the end of a Fantastic Tournament for the Pitt Panthers. My heart says pick Pitt but my mind and money says don’t. I just can’t envision a scenario where they can beat Kansas. Hopefully both for my money and heart all my predictions are right. A Final Four appearance would be great, So Good Luck Pitt.

  1. March 31, 2011 at 9:30 AM

    I just want to mention I am just newbie to blogging and definitely loved you’re web-site. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your site . You certainly come with amazing article content. Appreciate it for sharing your webpage.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

